Faith in a great God

I believe God is ALMIGHTY. I believe He cannot be put into a box. He is much bigger than our thoughts or imaginations. I believe there is an end to theology when we trying to determine whether or not God can or cannot do something. It is not for us to determine.

Recently, someone asked me whether I believe if Jesus has taken on our sicknesses on the cross. And whether as a result we don’t have to go through pain in our bodies. That is a very complex question and I believe the answer is not black or white. I also believe that I don’t know the full answer. There is so much more revelation I desire to obtain from God concerning the matter of healing.

What I have come to believe and know in my own life and of those around me is as follows. I believe that we can ask Jesus for the healing of our bodies every time we experience pain and ailments. In fact, we should go to Him, our great physician first, before we run to medication or doctors. I also believe that we should keeping believing and hoping that God will heal us even if we don’t experience it right away. God is so gracious and kind and he is approachable about every matter that concerns us. Most importantly, He is able and willing to heal!

Where do I see a problem in teaching that God will always heal and that we just have to pray harder or have more faith? That can be a very discouraging doctrine. What if God allows us to be sick for his glory? What if he wants to do a work in our hearts (sanctification) while we are sick? What if He allows us to be sick so we would not cling to the temporal things, the earthly but instead long for eternity and what is to come? If we don’t think rightly about healing we can be tempted to be upset at God,to be discouraged and lose our focus.

My husband reminded me on the way Jesus responded to every person he encountered differently. He did not say the same things to everyone nor did He heal everyone alike. He was guided by God the father and knew what each person needed. Let us rest in that wonderful truth. If God doesn’t intervene in your life or the life of a loved one of yours in the way you would like him to, He still cares. He loves you and them. He is at work and faithful! Find your joy, not in your circumstance or feelings but in his never failing promises for you! Hallelujah!

Let me encourage you with the lyrics of great hymn. May you make this your prayer today and find deep joy and satisfaction in Jesus:

“It Is Well With My Soul”

When peace, like a river, attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll;
Whatever my lot, Thou has taught me to say,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
Let this blest assurance control,
That Christ has regarded my helpless estate,
And that shed His own blood for my soul.It is well, with my soul,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought!
My sin, not in part but the whole,
Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more,
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!

And Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight,
The clouds be rolled back as a scroll;
The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend,
Even so, it is well with my soul.

It is well, it is well, with my soul.
It is well, it is well, it is well with my soul.
It is well, with my soul, it is well
It is well, it is well with my soul.

Leave a Reply

