impassioned

What has impassioned you lately? I have to say that I believe to be a quite deep and analytical soul. I think a lot and I analyze a lot. I think about life and God and his word and what He means and what He wants to do. I don’t always understand things immediately and my sweet husband knows that to be true. When I am with him, I speak freely. I share my thoughts and conclusions. Often, they don’t make sense to him until I expound further. That is because I can be a spaghetti mind. LOL. I want to become better at ordering my thoughts and thinking before speaking. I also want to learn to differentiate what thought is solely for me and what thought is to be shared with others.

Recently, I have been thinking about life and death. I want to live my life to the fullest without fearing death. I wouldn’t say that I necessarily fear death but I sometimes worry about how it must feel to suffer and die. As christians, we are not guaranteed an easy life or death. In fact, our call is to die so that we may gain life. That is two-fold. It means to die to our own self, dreams, desires so that Christ’s life can be visible in and through us and God can use us to show his light into this dark world. “In the same way, count yourselves dead to sin but alive to God in Christ Jesus.” Romans 6:11

And then there is the call to suffer as believers. “Indeed, all who desire to live godly lives in Christ Jesus will be persecuted.” 2 Timothy 3:12 There is no guarantee for us to die in our sleep when we are 80 years old, calm and peacefully. So, if indeed that is our call as christians, why do we fear? What do we have to fear? I could very well die in a car accident or any other way, or I could indeed die a martyrs death. It’s all in God’s hands. It is not for me to decide.

“‘Where, O death, is your victory? Where, O death, is your sting?’ The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law. But thanks be to God! He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.” 1 Corinthians 15:55-57

That impassions me. It impassions me to share Jesus fearlessly. It impassions me to run the race like never before. It impassions me to reach for the reward. Give it my all. It impassions me to pray harder for the lost souls around me and pray for a heart for them.

Oh Lord, do a work in me, not just today, but from this day forth and in my reader also, in Jesus name!

Leave a comment